Board Security

GitKraken Glo boards have a public setting, which could be perfect for open source projects or other collaborations. Here's how private, organization, and public board settings work.


Make a board public

If you are a Board Owner or Admin, navigate to this gear and click on Security.

From here, you may set your board to Public and access the Copy URL option.

This will grant view-access permission to anyone with the board URL. Viewers have the following permissions:

  • View access to board's cards and columns
  • Access to card details
  • Access to calendar view
  • Cannot edit nor archive cards
  • Cannot duplicate cards nor copy cards to other boards
  • Cannot move cards between columns or boards

If you need additional permissions, request the board Admin add you as a user.

Note: Public boards will not be saved to your boards list, unless you're added to the board as a user.

GitHub synced public boards

GitHub synced boards can also be made public by their board Owner or Admin--- which is perfect if you want to share your project with the world.


Limit board visibility to Organizations

If you are a GitKraken Pro user, you will have an additional option to limit board visibility to your organization.

This permission will prevent any person from viewing your board unless they are logged into Glo AND their user license belongs to your Organization.


Set board to private

Private boards may only be accessed by its users. Even users who belong to the same organization cannot search nor access these boards unless they're a general user of the target board.

By default, new boards are set to Private.

If you are not a user on a private board, clicking the URL to a private board will bring you to Glo's home page.